Friday, April 10, 2009

Najib's Cabinet - UMNO dominated and indicative of where other component parties stand

When it comes to the naming of the Cabinet - it is all up to the Prime Minister of the Day. The PM picks his "TEAM" to govern the country.

There are certain conventions in Malaysia -
- i.e. that the Deputy President of UMNO is made the DPM,
- that the Presidents of the 'main' component parties of the BN are appointed Ministers,
- that the VPs of UMNO (including the heads of the 3 wings - Wanita, Pemuda...) are given a cabinet position..

But, these are all conventions.... at the end of the day, the PM names his team.

It is a Barisan Nasional government - but alas the distribution of Ministerial positions amongst the various component parties again highlights the 'OVER-DOMINANCE' of UMNO within this coalition

1 Prime Minister, 1 Deputy Prime Minister,19 Ministers (out of the 29 Ministers) are from UMNO.
4 Ministers from MCA
1 Minister from MIC
Gerakan (1),
PBB (1),
Supp (1),
PBS (1)
Upko (1).

In a country where the population of Malays is only about 50.4%, and the number of Muslims are 57% - it makes no sense at all for UMNO to have so many Ministerial positions.

It is also sad that the proposal of the 2nd DPM was not taken up (this was raised again by the MCA).

But then, we have seen calls of BN component parties, to even release HINDRAF 5 not even receive a response from the BN ...or the PM. Maybe, it may be time for some of the BN component parties to re-evaluate things - to wonder again whether they should remain in the BN. To re-evaluate the decision making process in BN. In BN - No. 1, No, 2 and Secretary's post are all held by UMNO, if I am not wrong.

Note that the number of Malays (according to CIA Factbook, in 2004) is 50.4%. The number of Muslims in 2000 according to the same source is 60%. A recent Malaysian government census in 2005 revealed that there are 57% Muslims. [Remembering that to be a Malay, one needs to be a Muslim]. - UMNO supremacy...the UMNO invention "Malay supremacy' should be rejected by all Malaysians


Prime Minister

Najib Abdul Razak (Umno)

Deputy Prime Minister

Muhyiddin Yassin (Umno)

Ministers in the Prime Minister's Department

Koh Tsu Koon - Unity Affairs & Performance Management (Gerakan)
Nazri Abdul Aziz
- Minister in charge of Law and Parliament (Umno)
Nor Mohamed Yaakop - Economic Planning Unit (Umno)
Major Gen Jamil Khir Baharom - Islamic Affairs (Umno)

Liew Vui Keong (LDP)
Mashitah Ibrahim (senator, Umno)
SK Devamany (MIC)
Ahmad Maslan (Umno)
T Murugiah (senator, PPP)

Finance Ministry

Najib Abdul Razak (1) (Umno)
Ahmad Husni Hanadzlan (2) (Umno)

Chor Chee Heong (MCA)
Awang Adek Hussien (senator, Umno)

Education Ministry

Muhyiddin Yassin (Umno)

Wee Ka Siong (MCA)
Puad Zarkashi (Umno)

Transport Ministry

Ong Tee Keat (MCA)

Abdul Rahim Bakri (Umno)
Robert Lau Hoi Chew (Supp-Sarawak)

Agricultural Development and Commodities

Bernard Dompok (Upko-Sabah)

Hamzah Zainuddin (Umno)

Home Affairs

Hishammuddin Hussien (Umno)

Abu Seman Yusop (Umno)
Jelaing Mersat (SPDP-Sarawak)

Information, Communication, Arts and Culture

Rais Yatim (Umno)

Joseph Salang Gandum (PRS-Sarawak)
Heng Seai Kie (senator, MCA)

Energy, Green Technology and Water

Peter Chin Fah Kui (Supp-Sarawak)

Noriah Kasnon (Umno)

Rural Development and Territories

Shafie Apdal (Umno)

Hassan Malek (Umno)
Joseph Entulu Belaun (PRS-Sarawak)

Higher Education

Khaled Nordin (Umno)

Hou Kok Chung (MCA)
Saifuddin Abdullah (Umno)

International Trade and Industry

Mustapa Mohamad (Umno)

Mukhriz Mahathir
Jacob Dungau Sagan (SPDP-Sarawak)

Science, Technology and Innovation

Dr Maximus Ongkili (PBS-Sabah)

Fadillah Yusof (PPB-Sarawak)

Natural Resources and Environment

Douglas Uggah Embas (PPB-Sarawak)

Joseph Kurup (PBRS-Sabah)


Ng Yen Yen (MCA)

Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Abdul Taib (PBB-Sarawak)


Noh Omar (Umno)

Johari Baharom (Umno)
Rohani Abdul Karim (PBB-Sarawak)


Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (Umno)

Abdul Latif Ahmad (Umno)


Shaziman Abu Mansor (Umno)

Yong Khoon Seng (Supp-Sarawak)


Liow Tiong Lai (MCA)

Rosnah Rashid Shilin (Umno)

Youth and Sports

Ahmad Shabery Cheek (Umno)

Razali Ibrahim (Umno)
Wee Jeck Seng (MCA)

Human Resource

Dr S Subramaniam (MIC)

Maznah Mazlan (Umno)

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs

Ismail Sabri Yaakob (Umno)

Tan Lian Hoe (Gerakan)

Housing and Local Government

Kong Cho Ha (MCA)

Lajim Ukin (Umno)

Women, Family and Society Development

Sharizat Abdul Jalil (senator, Umno)

Chew Mei Fun (senator, MCA)


Anifah Aman (Umno)

A Kohilan Pillay (senator, Gerakan),
Lee Chee Leong (senator, MCA)

Federal Territories

Raja Nong Chik Raja Zainal Abidin (Umno)

M Saravanan (MIC)

1 comment:

Unknown said...

hahaha... they are all lapdogs la. as long as there are bones to chew... they wouldn't even dare to bark.

they are more disgusting than the devils.